Reviews

19 Reviews | write a review

Here's what some satisfied customers have to say

Some of these reviews were submitted on other websites. We are not affiliated with or sponsored by these websites.

Cancel

Write a Review

Rating:
Quote:

Enter a quote such as: "I Love this company!"
Review:
Name:
City:
State:
Email:

(Optional, will only be used to communicate with you as needed.)
Aug 25, 2017 | | Chicago , IL
Client's rating: 5 of 5

We stayed in the Pines cabin and it was well worth the trip. Not only was the cabin itself spacious, but the massive whirlpool tub, the outdoor porch swing, and the campfire area were a major plus. Space between the cabins is great, you're far enough away from everyone where you don't really notice anyone else around. It's beautiful out there and so peaceful. I wish we were able to stay a few more days. I hope to return soon!

Aug 18, 2017 | | Chicago , IL
Client's rating: 5 of 5

We stayed in the Commanche as we took our dog with us. The cabins are better than advertised! We had such a good time, Very clean and cozy! You can't beat a bonfire and a star filled sky in peace and quiet. Sitting out on the porch early morning having coffee is priceless too! The office is well stocked with movies, books and goodies just in case you forgot to pack something! Very friendly staff as well. We'll definitely be visiting again!

Aug 5, 2017 | | Mokena , IL
Client's rating: 5 of 5

We stayed here for an extended weekend in the Shady Oaks cabin. This place was perfect! surpassed all my expectations. The office with the movies, games and small things you can purchase at anytime is great concept they have and it's all on the honor system. The small family owned business is apparent and is what makes this cabin getaway the best to go to for your vacation. The area the cabins are on is so quiet and peaceful - we will be back to Kishauwau in the near future!

Jul 28, 2017 | | Chicago , IL
Client's rating: 5 of 5

My family and I had a wonderful time! This place is beautiful from sitting outside at night having a bonfire to sitting on the swing listening to it rain! And having coffee in the morning! My kids loved looking for frogs/toads in the koi pond and trying to fish in the river. Looking forward to a another stay here!

Feb 22, 2017 | | Bloomington , IL
Client's rating: 5 of 5

My husband and I have been staying at these cabins every year for our anniversary (4 years). We fell in love with it the first time we visit. First, by the view pulling up, the space between the cabins is perfect. Next is how welcoming and kind the owners are (they are such beautiful, loving people, truly one of a kind). Then once we got into our cabin it was beautiful, each cabin has it's own beautiful view. So peaceful, little to no cell reception (perfect trip for a get away, away from everybody). My husband stated once we've stayed in every cabin, we will start over, he don't want to stay anywhere else on our special day. Thank you for the perfect location, we love it!!

Nov 25, 2016 | | Evergreen Park , IL
Client's rating: 5 of 5

My husband and I enjoyed a 2 night stay in the Americana cabin at Kishauwau. Everything about our experience was the best! The owners and staff are some of the finest people we've ever met and they work hard to ensure your stay is just what you hope for. The grounds are beautiful and well-tended; so relaxing to walk around and take in the sights and sounds of nature. The cabin was IMMACULATE, COMFORTABLE and BEAUTIFUL!! From the moment we entered that cozy retreat, we did not want to leave. We dreamed of living there because it was just perfect! We enjoyed true peace and quiet which was just what we needed---medicine for the tired spirit. A 2 night stay was way too short, so we plan to go back for a longer stay next time we have time off. Try Kishauwau---you'll LOVE it!!

Dec 15, 2015 | | ??? , IL
Client's rating: 5 of 5

Wonderful property!! We had a brief but lovely stay over 2 days during which we had engagement photos taken here and at Starved Rock. The owners are great and are available but not at all intrusive. I would choose this over a hotel any time! The fall colors were pretty and everything about the cabin was great. The one thing that we did not know was that there is a cutoff time to check in. We made it in time, but make sure you give an accurate time for check-in. It's a much more personal experience than a hotel. It's a great place to unplug and unwind. We will definitely be back!

Dec 15, 2015 | | Montclair , NJ
Client's rating: 5 of 5

In spite of unusually cold weather on the weekend we went to Kishauwau, we very much enjoyed our stay there with some friends and family. The wood stove was a nice feature to our cabin and added warmth and atmosphere. The folks who run the place were very friendly and helpful in showing us around and providing what we needed for our gang to eat together in one of the cabins. The place is peaceful and in a beautiful wooded area near the Vermillion River and we also enjoyed exploring both the Kishauwau property and nearby state parks.

Dec 15, 2015 | | Chicago , IL
Client's rating: 4 of 5

About 10 years ago we were looking for a cabin getaway near Chicago and found Kishauwau. We've been going back multiple times a year ever since. It's a nice, quiet retreat from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. Terisa and Jamie, the owners, are very nice and aim to please. The cabins are clean, comfortable and cozy. It's a short drive to Starved Rock State Park, where we often walk on the trails. The biggest drawback for us (although some would say this is a plus) is that there is no internet access in the cabins. We love to get away from everything, but sometimes we have to take work with us, so we end up going to Starved Rock Lodge to take advantage of the free wi-fi there. Other than that we love Kishauwau and will keep going back.

Dec 15, 2015 | | ??? , ??
Client's rating: 5 of 5

The cabin that we stayed in was great. It had all the comforts of home. Me and my husband had a great time while we were there. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

19 results found. Viewing page 1 of 2. Go to page 1 2   Next
Starved Rock Area Fun

Contact Us Today


Why Choose Us

  • Cabins near Starved Rock? We are the only mom & pop cabin rental property in this area like what we offer!
  • Our property is host to 17 cabins in varying sizes.
  • The only cabin lodging near Starved Rock State Park like what we offer.
  • They are spread throughout 55 acres of beautiful wooded property in north central Illinois.
  • Just a 1 1/2 – 2 hour drive from the Chicagoland area here in Illinois with a multitude of things to do. Click Here for the events calendar.
  • Kishauwau Country Cabins offers rental luxury vacation cabins for weekend, weeknight, and all-week getaways here in Illinois. Now renting our largest cabin for Baby/Bridal Showers and Business Meetings Sunday – Thursday from September – May. Please call for details.
  • Four state parks close by – Starved Rock State Park, Matthiessen State Park, Buffalo Rock State Park, and Illini State Park.